Rudyard Lake Steam Railway – Another first for chasewaterstuff!

Rudyard Lake Steam Railway

Another first for chasewaterstuff!

 After my first visit to any Canal Festival at Pelsall and then my first visit to the Brownhills Canal Festival, today, 29th June,  saw my first visit to the Rudyard Lake Steam Railway.  I’ve been promising myself a trip to Rudyard Lake for some time now and today I finally made it – with my trusty hound in tow, of course!Waiting patiently!

  Another Narrow Gauge railway, following my visit to Amerton Railway, and another most enjoyable day. King Arthur by the dam

Rudyard Lake Steam Railway is in the North Staffordshire Peak District and their steam trains give a great 3 mile return trip along the side of the lake. The railway uses real coal fired narrow gauge steam engines to pull all its trains. The railways 5 steam engines all have names linked to the tales of King Arthur. It’s one of the UK’s finest heritage steam railways and is constantly developing new attractions to give great family days out.A rather grotty photo in the Lakeside Loop as Merlin comes by.

I was most surprised to find trains running every half-hour, giving a really first-class service.  I decided to have a lunch break at the end of the line and I had barely finished my coffee before the next train back had arrived.  Perfect!  And dogs travel free!  (To my eternal shame I did utter that sad phrase “you take the dog and I’ll walk” as if nobody had ever said it before.  How many times must the drivers have heard it!  But today’s driver did try to smile – thank you and I’m very sorry – I’ll try not to say it next time, and there must be a next time, it was such a good day).

Merlin running roundThe lake, taken from the trainThe lake, taken from the dam.Pendragon being worked on.Showing part of a very neat station set-up.

For more information on the Rudyard Lake Steam Railway go to: 

http://www.rlsr.org  or click on Rudyard Lake Steam Railway on the blogroll

One response to “Rudyard Lake Steam Railway – Another first for chasewaterstuff!

  1. Glad you enjoyed your visit and do come again. We do let dogs travel free when accompnied by well behaved owners. We have much more trouble with the owners than the dogs.
    Mike

Leave a Reply

